Fulbright Program

Fulbright Program is the flagship international exchange scholarship program between the U.S. and 155 countries, supported by the U.S. Congress and partner governments worldwide. Among cooperating countries is also Slovenia.


The Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 grants annually. Roughly 1,600 U.S. students, 4,000 foreign students, 1,200 U.S. scholars, and 900 visiting scholars receive awards, in addition to several hundred teachers and professionals. Approximately 310,000 "Fulbrighters" have participated in the Program since its inception in 1946.


The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FSB), composed of 12 educational and public leaders appointed by the President of the United States, formulates policies for the administration of the Fulbright Program, establishes criteria for the selection of candidates and selects candidates nominated for awards.


Since 1964 when the first Educational Exchange between the U.S. and the then former Yugoslavia was signed, over 350 Slovenian scholars took part in the Fulbright Exchange Program. In the last decade up to to five one semester scholar grants and up to three 9-month student grants were awarded under Fulbright program annually to Slovenes. 


Of course Slovenia hosts students and scholars from USA under this program. 


On October 6, 2011 the third Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of the United States and the Government of the Republic of Slovenia concerning the Fulbright Exchange Program was signed since Slovenia’s independence. Starting with the academic year 2012-2013, the Fulbright Program in Slovenia will be jointly administered and implemented by the U.S. Embassy and the Slovene Human Resources Development and Scholarship Fund.


The Fulbright competition opens in spring every year for vists int he next academic year. Next competition will be opened in spring 2013 and selected students and scholars will then visit the USA during the 2014/2015 academic year.


To top